MINUTES OF THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON SATURDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2014 AT 1:00 P.M., AT WAYFINDERS, 950 JEFFERSON AVENUE, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Claudia Sarbit Derek Dabee Diane Cameron Teresa Jaworski Greg McFarlane Evelyn Myskiw Edward Ploszay Maria Santos Richard Sawka	Chairperson Vice-Chairperson Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee
IN ATTENDANCE	Brian O'Leary Gwen Birse Verland Force Lydia Hedrich Gerry Corr Wayne Shimizu Gaylene Schroeder-Nishimura Donna Herold	Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Director, Information Technology Secretary-Treasurer Asst. Secretary-Treasurer Administrative Assistant

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m.

### AGENDA

## 14B-034 Approval of the Agenda

Ploszay / Santos That the agenda for this meeting be approved as amended.

**Carried** 

# 14B-035 Aboriginal Education Resolution

Jaworski / Cameron That the Board endorse the following Resolution on Aboriginal Education.

#### **Resolution:**

That Manitoba School Boards Association actively lobby the Federal Government and Manitoba Members of Parliament to rescind the proposed First Nations Education Act and renew negotiations with First Nations with respect to education to ensure that changes and reforms fund First Nations schools to a level that is comparable to like provincial schools, respect the rights and dignity of First Nations, contribute to positive outcomes for First Nations students and contribute to a more positive relationship between First Nations and the Government of Canada. <u>Carried</u>

## 14B-036 Murdered and Missing Aboriginal Women

Santos / Myskiw

That the Manitoba School Boards Association support calls for an inquiry into the issue of murdered and missing Aboriginal women in Canada. <u>Carried</u>

## 14B-037 School Bus Purchase

Myskiw / Dabee That the Division advance the purchase of one school bus at this time. <u>Carried</u>

#### ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:08 p.m.

Claudia Sarbit Chairperson Wayne Shimizu Secretary-Treasurer